Generate Radio
Everything You Need to Know About: The 1975

The 1975 seemingly burst on to the new music scene in early 2013. But it was a long time coming, after years working on music together the world has noticed the four-piece that find themselves based in Manchester. Comprised of Matthew Healy, Adam Hann, George Daniel and Ross MacDonald, they are representative of the up-and-coming sound of new British music.

The 1975 (4)

The band’s sound is unique, it showcases a rock sound with an alternative twist. One that sees the sound of some of their tracks producing electronic vibes, with even a bit of an R&B style vocal thrown into the mix by singer Matthew Healy.

Facedown EP CoverTo date, The 1975 have released three EPs with label Dirty Hit Records. The first of which, Facedown, was released on 6th August 2012. The four songs act as an introduction to the eclectic sound of the band’s music. Title track ‘Facedown’ is a stunning opener which verges on the style of the contemplative and grand music that Sigur Rós do so well. ‘The City’ and ‘Antichrist’ again display different sounds and Healy even warbles on ‘Woman’.

Sex EP CoverTheir second EP, Sex, was released on 19th November 2012. It features another four tracks, of which ‘Sex’ is the most-notable. It’s hooks are so catchy that it is no wonder Huw Stephens and Zane Lowe backed them on Radio 1′s behalf. Having said that ‘Sex’ is the most-notable, that is not to overlook the other tracks ‘Intro/Set 3′, ‘Undo’ and ‘You’ that complete this EP.

Music For Cars is the third and most recently released EP from The 1975 with label Dirty Hit still backing them for big things. It has been available since 4th March 2013 and single ‘Chocolate’ being playlisted on Radio 1 has no doubt helped to raise the band’s profile. It was chosen by Zane Lowe for his “Hottest Record in the World” feature on Tuesday 8th January, with him describing the band as being “One to listen out for this year for definite.” They also played as part of Radio 1′s Future Festival on January 17th. Which is when I first heard ‘Chocolate’.Music For Cars EP Cover

‘Chocolate’ is without doubt the most infectious piece of rock-pop to come from The 1975 so far and is complimented by lyrics that take a couple of listens to grasp. Healy’s vocal style is fully-fledged on this track. It has become an early entry into the Most Played playlist on my iTunes. In my opinion, it is a premature contender for one of the year’s best songs (and it’s only March!) The influence of Sigur Rós can be heard again on some of the Music For Cars EP’s five tracks, while ‘Heads.Car.Bending’ harks back to ‘Facedown’ but with a more upbeat backing. ‘Me’ closes the the EP with a reflective and electronic sound.

The pace will surely be picked back up again on the follow-up EP which is due to be released in May. With a debut album also rumoured for release this year, 2013 could really be the one for The 1975 to prove their worth. And I, for one, cannot wait.

Watch the music video for Chocolate below:

Want to “Follow” them on Twitter and “Like” their Facebook page? Click the icons below.

Twitter Icon ButtonFacebook icon button

Are you also a big fan of The 1975? Leave a comment below and let us know what you think.

Share this post

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed
  • Share this post on Delicious
  • StumbleUpon this post
  • Share this post on Digg
  • Tweet about this post
  • Share this post on Mixx
  • Share this post on Technorati
  • Share this post on Facebook
  • Share this post on NewsVine
  • Share this post on Reddit
  • Share this post on Google
  • Share this post on LinkedIn

About the author

Euan Tait had written 8 articles for The Trip Magazine

There are no responses so far.

Leave your response