Generate Radio
Album Review: Stornoway – Tales From Terra Firma

Stornoway continue to develop their organic sound on Tales From Terra Firma, the follow-up to Beachcomber’s Windowsill in 2010. The drums that signal the start of first track ‘You Take Me As I Am’ welcome the listener in to gentle and upbeat sounds that continue throughout the album.

The first single to be taken from the album, ‘Knock Me On The Head’, has an interesting concept. The lyrics take inspiration from a late-1800s poem, written by Samuel Taylor Coleridge. 4AD are once again the label behind the band for their release of the “difficult second album”. However it is an album that is certainly not difficult to listen to. Even when the lyrics are melancholic, lead singer Brian Briggs’ delivery means that a certain sound of optimism goes along with them. Specifically, the repetition of “No I won’t be afraid of the darkness a comin’” on final track ‘November Song’ is evidence of this.

While it is not exactly a groundbreaking album, it delivers a sound that those familiar with the previous work of Stornoway will love and that listeners new to the band should certainly consider investing in.


Share this post

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed
  • Share this post on Delicious
  • StumbleUpon this post
  • Share this post on Digg
  • Tweet about this post
  • Share this post on Mixx
  • Share this post on Technorati
  • Share this post on Facebook
  • Share this post on NewsVine
  • Share this post on Reddit
  • Share this post on Google
  • Share this post on LinkedIn

About the author

Euan Tait had written 8 articles for The Trip Magazine

One Response to "Album Review: Stornoway – Tales From Terra Firma"
  1. Reply Album Review: Stornoway – Tales From Terra Firma | I Could See March 19, 2013 14:24 pm

    [...] Originally reviewed for The Trip. [...]

Leave your response